News

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Professor has written four murder mysteries under a pseudonym, by MICHELLE KOIDIN JAFFEE

Professor Ken Elzinga would kill to teach you economics. On paper, at least. The revered U.Va. professor—who has taught more than 40,000  U.Va.... [...]

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

As the sheer volume of data in a range of computationally intensive fields grows bigger, computer scientists, engineers and researchers from across the disciplines are finding that work involving “big data” increasingly lands at the intersection... [...]

Friday, June 5, 2015

This month, newly minted doctors and military cadets are leaving the University of Virginia and many other schools for assigned residency and branch assignments around the globe. These movements number in the millions, but most are directed by a... [...]

Sunday, June 7, 2015

The online ad that led you to your new favorite pair of shoes might seem innocuous, but according to University of Virginia Associate Professor of Economics and ... [...]

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

U.Va. Economist Finds Each New Immigrant Creates 1.2 Jobs for Local Workers

 
JUNE 10, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015

As monsoon season arrives in India, the nation’s meteorological department has warned citizens to expect lower rainfall levels for the second year in a row, on the heels of one of the deadliest heat waves in history. The predicted drought could... [...]

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Q&A: Jerome Meyinsse, Class of ’10, Economics major, UVA basketball alum, and professional basketball player

AUGUST 12, 2015
CAROLINE NEWMAN

When former... [...]

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

AUGUST 25, 2015
CAROLINE NEWMAN

Amid global stock market concerns, University of Virginia economists made the short drive down Interstate 64 to an institution... [...]

Thursday, December 10, 2015

To see the video click here

It’s likely that Ken Elzinga has impacted more students than any professor in University of Virginia history.

By the spring of 2015, the Robert C... [...]

Monday, December 14, 2015

Learn about what tech firms are looking for these days from Prof. Nekipelov (ECON 4720).

Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016

Implications of Brexit with Prof. Harrigan.

Professor Harrigan shared his thoughts on Brexit, on Friday (June 24)! 

Monday, June 27, 2016

Q and A with Professor Pepper on Why Research Has Not Been Able to Solve the Gun Control Debate

Thursday, August 4, 2016
A quartet of UVA economists team up to promote financial inclusion
Wednesday, August 17, 2016

NEW FACULTY for Fall 2016!

The Department of Economics is delighted to welcome Kerem Cosar, Sandip Sukhtankar, Jae Won Lee, Jonathon Colmer, and Eric Chyn as new faculty members this Fall 2016!

Please read more about our new... [...]

Thursday, August 18, 2016

In 2014, Professor Amalia Miller, studied the effects of integrating female law enforcement. See the original paper here: http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=... [...]

Monday, August 22, 2016

"Jessica Howell, an editor of "Matching Students to Opportunity": "Students, particularly low-income students, who enroll in public four-year institutions have better college outcomes — and labor market outcomes for that matter — than their... [...]