Applied Microeconomics

The applied micro workshop has speakers in labor economics, development economics, health economics, and empirical industrial organization. All papers are empirical, and a high proportion use state-of-the-art econometric methods with structural modeling. Some seminars are focused on policy questions, and others are more focused on methodological issues. In an important sense, a focus of the seminar is using good research methodology to address important policy questions.

Upcoming Seminars

Thursday, September 21, 2017 (Joint with IO/Theory)

Robin Lee will be here to present her paper: TBA

Thursday, October 5, 2017 (Joint with Public Economics)

Karen Clay will be here to present her paper: TBA

Friday, October 6, 2017

(Note 12:30pm - 1:30pm
Joint with Frank Batten School
)

Frank Wolak (Stanford) will be here to present his paper: TBA

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Federico Ciliberto will be here to present his paper: TBA

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Katja Seim will be here to present her paper: Economies of Density in E-Commerce: A Study of Amazon's Fulllment Center Network

Thursday, November 9, 2017

James Roberts will be here to present his paper:TAX ADVANTAGES AND IMPERFECT COMPETITION IN AUCTIONS FOR MUNICIPAL BONDS​

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Federico Ciliberto will be here to present his paper: Public Communication and Tacit Collusion in the Airline Industry

Thursday, December 7, 2017

John Rust will be here to present his paper: TBA

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Alon Eisenberg will be here to present his paper: TBA

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Amit Gandhi will be here to present his paper: TBA

Thursday, April 5, 2018

Mar Regaunt will be here to present his paper: TBA

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Myrto Kalouptsidi will be here to present her paper: TBA

Thursday, May 10 , 2018

Justine Hastings will be here to present her paper: TBA

 

Related Faculty

Faculty with related teaching and research interests include:

Department of Economics

University of Virginia
248 McCormick Rd
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4182
Phone: 434-924-3177
Fax: 434-982-2904